Floodplain Management

FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) & the NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program)
FEMA administers the NFIP.  Since 1968, FEMA’s NFIP has been successful in assisting flood victims get back on their feet.  The NFIP follows regulations aimed to reduce flood losses and offers reasonably priced flood insurance to communities that comply with minimum standards of Floodplain Management (FPM).  Therefore participation in the NFIP is vital.

The NFIP has developed flood risk data, found within the FIS (Flood Insurance Study) and the associated FIRM (Flood Insurance Rate Map), for each participating community.

The NFIP CRS (Community Rating System):
In 1990, the NFIP implemented the CRS as a voluntary incentive program that recognizes community FPM activities that exceed the minimum NFIP regulations.  The NFIP CRS recognizes community efforts beyond those minimum standards by reducing flood insurance premiums for the community’s property owners.  The goals of the CRS are:  flood loss reduction, facilitating an accurate insurance rating, and promoting awareness of flood hazards and insurance.

Implementation of FPM activities that exceed the minimum NFIP regulations along with meeting the three goals of the CRS is what accumulates the required credit points to obtain this reduced flood insurance premium.

The SFHA (Special Flood Hazard Area):
ALL locations are subject to flood risk.  Locations subject to flood risk are either in a low, moderate, or high risk area.  It is vital to be aware of the flood risk in order to preserve life and property.  Land areas that are at high flood risk are called the SFHA.  The FIS and the FIRM identify the SFHA within a community.

To ensure that structures will be protected from flood damage, ALL development within the SFHA is required to be regulated. Structural Filling and similar projects require a permit and are prohibited in certain areas.  Existing structures Substantially Damaged by flood (equal or exceed 50% of the market value) that are located in the SFHA must be elevated to the BFE (Base Flood Elevation) or above, BEFORE they are repaired.

Hazard Disclosure (PDF)
Higher Regulatory Standards (PDF)
Map Information Service (PDF)

FEMA Technical Bulletins